Company

01.10.2018
Dirk Röse

Glo­bal Play­er

Klasmann-Deilmann says fare­well to Mana­ging Direc­tor Nor­bert Siebels

Klasmann-Deilmann GmbH has said fare­well to its long-stan­ding Mana­ging Direc­tor Nor­bert Siebels. During an offi­ci­al cere­mo­ny, the Admi­nis­tra­ti­ve Board and work­force rep­re­sen­ta­ti­ves tog­e­ther with com­pa­n­ions and col­leagues were joi­ned by guests from the worlds of poli­tics and busi­ness in pay­ing tri­bu­te to his achie­ve­ments.

You are a glo­bal play­er, and you have tur­ned Klasmann-Deilmann into a glo­bal play­er”, said Bern­hard Alte­vers, mem­ber of the Admi­nis­tra­ti­ve Board in his eulo­gy loo­king back at the peri­od sin­ce 1990. “You have safe­guar­ded resour­ces, built fac­to­ries, taken over pro­duc­tion com­pa­nies and foun­ded sales com­pa­nies.”

It was just a few mon­ths after Klasmann Wer­ke mer­ged with C. Deilmann-Torf­be­trie­be that Nor­bert Siebels joi­ned the new­ly for­med Klasmann-Deilmann GmbH in May 1990 as Head of Pro­duct Deve­lop­ment. He was then appoin­ted Mana­ging Direc­tor by the Super­vi­so­ry Board befo­re the end of the year. Under his aus­pi­ces, Klasmann-Deilmann Ire­land was acqui­red in 1991 and the first future-ori­en­ted sup­ply agree­ments were con­clu­ded for raw mate­ri­als from Lit­hua­nia. In 1993 the com­pa­ny star­ted raw mate­ri­als tra­ding through Bol Peat, the Pot­grond Cen­trum in the port of Rot­ter­dam was com­mis­sio­ned in 1996 and in 2000 Klasmann-Deilmann acqui­red its first share­hol­ding in the Lit­hua­ni­an pro­duc­tion com­pa­nies in Silu­te and Lau­ke­sa. The sales com­pa­ny Klasmann-Deilmann Asia Paci­fic in Sin­g­a­po­re was foun­ded in 2001. The peat ope­ra­ti­ons in Ezerelis/Lithuania fol­lo­wed in 2005, tog­e­ther with Klasmann-Deilmann Bel­gi­um and Klasmann-Deilmann Brug­ge. The lar­ge Fac­to­ry 4 in Silu­te was inau­gu­ra­ted in 2010. To safe­guard white peat sup­plies in the long term, in 2011 Klasmann-Deilmann acqui­red exten­si­ve resour­ces in Lat­via and foun­ded Klasmann-Deilmann Lat­via. In the same year, Klasmann-Deilmann Aus­tria and Klasmann-Deilmann Ame­ri­cas were laun­ched as sales com­pa­nies. Klasmann-Deilmann Pol­s­ka has been whol­ly owned by Klasmann-Deilmann sin­ce 2012. This was fol­lo­wed by Klasmann-Deilmann Chi­na in 2013 and Klasmann-Deilmann Euro­pe in 2015. On a par­al­lel basis, con­trac­ts were con­clu­ded with inde­pen­dent sales part­ners in many coun­tries who took on the exclu­si­ve sales of gro­wing media in the indi­vi­du­al mar­kets. Over the years, this resul­ted in a net­work that spans the ent­i­re world today.

Klasmann-Deilmann also took ear­ly steps to meet the demands from the poli­ti­cal sec­tor and envi­ron­ment pro­tec­tion orga­ni­sa­ti­ons for the use of alter­na­ti­ves to peat in the pro­duc­tion of gro­wing media. The first com­pos­ting faci­li­ties went into ope­ra­ti­on in 1991. Sin­ce 2010, Klasmann-Deilmann has been pro­du­cing its own wood fibres and mean­while ope­ra­tes five wood fib­re faci­li­ties, giving the com­pa­ny an ear­ly foot­hold on the bio-substrates seg­ment, whe­re Klasmann-Deilmann mean­while leads the mar­ket.

It’s in your blood to have a glo­bal mind­set and take a glo­bal approach”, sum­ma­ri­sed Bern­hard Alte­vers. “In this way, you have taken Klasmann-Deilmann right around the world, put­ting down roots in many pla­ces. Cor­po­ra­te growth was in good hands with you. It’s also in your blood to com­bi­ne a glo­bal approach with local action. You were never one to con­trol the company’s glo­bal desti­ny from the com­fort of your own desk. You were con­stant­ly on the move, visi­t­ing sub­si­dia­ries and sales part­ners, you were on site, you were at the heart of it all. You were both glo­bal play­er and always also local play­er. You knew that Klasmann-Deilmann’s suc­cess is clo­se­ly lin­ked to the suc­cess of its busi­ness and sales part­ners. You knew that suc­cess depends on pre­sence and dia­lo­gue.”

The­se thoughts were also reflec­ted by Kazi­mie­ras Kamins­kas as Mana­ging Direc­tor of the Lit­hua­ni­an pro­duc­tion com­pa­ny Klasmann-Deilmann Silu­te and mem­ber of the Group Exe­cu­ti­ve Com­mit­tee: “You were invol­ved right from the start in the deve­lop­ment of our orga­ni­sa­ti­ons in Lit­hua­nia and Lat­via and in set­ting up the pro­duc­tion faci­li­ties. You took Klasmann-Deilmann’s first steps in the Bal­tic regi­on in 1991 and play­ed a major role in acqui­ring the Lit­hua­ni­an com­pa­nies Silu­te, Lau­ke­sa, Gedri­mai and Eze­r­e­lis. You were also respon­si­ble for com­pre­hen­si­ve invest­ment, for instan­ce in the con­struc­tion of new fac­to­ries. You gave us inten­si­ve sup­port and always had the right advice to fur­ther the deve­lop­ment of the orga­ni­sa­ti­on.”

Mar­tin Schlich­ter, Pre­si­dent of the Cham­ber of Com­mer­ce and Indus­try Osnabrück/Emsland/County Bent­heim spo­ke about Nor­bert Siebels’ many years of exten­si­ve com­mit­ment, inclu­ding more than fif­te­en years as a mem­ber of the CCI Exe­cu­ti­ve Com­mit­tee: “In this role you were actively invol­ved in sha­ping the work of our CCI, rather than just being a pas­si­ve par­ti­ci­pant. This app­lied pri­ma­ri­ly to the key aspect of the eco­no­mic frame­work con­di­ti­ons but also to issu­es such as ener­gy, the envi­ron­ment and sustai­na­bi­li­ty. You were par­ti­cu­lar­ly com­mit­ted to your work in the finan­ci­al com­mit­tee of the pre­si­di­um, whe­re you made a major con­tri­bu­ti­on with your exten­si­ve know-how and your sharp ana­ly­ti­cal mind. By the way, we real­ly bene­fi­ted from your wealth of exper­ti­se with regard to sustai­na­bi­li­ty. Ever­yo­ne here knows how important the issue is to you per­so­nal­ly and how pro­gres­si­ve Klasmann-Deilmann’s sustai­na­bi­li­ty stra­te­gy is. On behalf of our CCI, I extend our heart­felt gra­ti­tu­de for your com­mit­ment.”

In the end, Nor­bert Siebels took the floor and illus­tra­ted his histo­ry with a num­ber of old pho­tos of the Klasmann Wer­ken sin­ce the 1950s and Klasmann-Deilmann GmbH sin­ce 1990. “The first thing that came to mind in pre­pa­ring for this occa­si­on was ‘gra­ti­tu­de’. I am very, very gra­te­ful for 28 won­der­ful years at Klasmann-Deilmann. I’d like to use this won­der­ful oppor­tu­ni­ty to say thank-you to ever­yo­ne who worked with me to make our com­pa­ny suc­cess­ful. We have spent many hours tog­e­ther, we have achie­ved a gre­at deal tog­e­ther, we have made Klasmann-Deilmann the world mar­ket lea­der and we have defen­ded this posi­ti­on year after year. I think you could say we had a bit of ever­ything: exci­te­ment and adven­ture, action and dra­ma, rather a lot of come­dy and at times even fan­ta­sy and sci­ence fic­tion. I shall miss it all very much. For me, Klasmann-Deilmann was always so much more than just a job. Klasmann-Deilmann was an important part of my life.” With very per­so­nal words, he thank­ed his col­leagues and com­pa­n­ions befo­re wis­hing the new manage­ment team Moritz Böcking and Bernd Weh­ming “every suc­cess and lots of luck.”

The­re were guests from more than twen­ty coun­tries all around the world. After the offi­ci­al cere­mo­ny, the new Inno­va­ti­on Cen­ter at Klasmann-Deilmann GmbH pro­vi­ded a fes­ti­ve atmo­s­phe­re that gave many peop­le an oppor­tu­ni­ty to say a per­so­nal fare­well to Nor­bert Siebels.

Unternehmen

01.10.2018
Dirk Röse

Glo­bal Play­er

Klasmann-Deilmann ver­ab­schie­det Geschäfts­füh­rer Nor­bert Siebels

Die Klasmann-Deilmann GmbH hat ihren lang­jäh­ri­gen Geschäfts­füh­rer Nor­bert Siebels ver­ab­schie­det. Den Rah­men einer fest­li­chen Ver­an­stal­tung nutz­ten Ver­wal­tungs­rat, Beleg­schaft und Weg­ge­fähr­ten sowie Gäs­te aus Poli­tik und Wirt­schaft, um sei­ne Ver­diens­te zu wür­di­gen.

Du bist ein Glo­bal Play­er und hast Klasmann-Deilmann zum Glo­bal Play­er gemacht.“ Bern­hard Alte­vers, Mit­glied des Ver­wal­tungs­ra­tes, blick­te in der Lau­da­tio zurück auf die Zeit seit 1990. „Du hast Res­sour­cen gesi­chert, Fabri­ken gebaut, Pro­duk­ti­ons­ge­sell­schaf­ten über­nom­men und Ver­triebs­ge­sell­schaf­ten gegrün­det.“

Nur weni­ge Mona­te nach der Fusi­on der Klasmann Wer­ke und der C. Deilmann-Torf­be­trie­be war Nor­bert Siebels im Mai 1990 als Lei­ter der Pro­dukt­ent­wick­lung in die neu gegrün­de­te Klasmann-Deilmann GmbH ein­ge­tre­ten. Noch im sel­ben Jahr berief ihn der Auf­sichts­rat zum Geschäfts­füh­rer. Unter sei­ner Lei­tung wur­de 1991 Klasmann-Deilmann Ire­land erwor­ben, wur­den die ers­ten zukunft­wei­sen­den Lie­fer­ver­trä­ge über Roh­stof­fe aus Litau­en geschlossen.1993 folg­te der Ein­stieg in den Roh­stoff­han­del über Bol Peat, 1996 wur­de das Pot­grond Cen­trum im Rot­ter­da­mer Hafen in Betrieb genom­men, 2000 erwarb Klasmann-Deilmann ers­te Betei­li­gun­gen an den litaui­schen Pro­duk­ti­ons­ge­sell­schaf­ten in Silu­te und Lau­ke­sa. Im Jahr 2001 wur­de die Ver­triebs­ge­sell­schaft Klasmann-Deilmann Asia Paci­fic in Sin­ga­pur gegrün­det. Die Torf­be­trie­be im litaui­schen Eze­r­e­lis folg­ten im Jahr 2005, eben­so Klasmann-Deilmann Bel­gi­um und Klasmann-Deilmann Brug­ge. Im Jahr 2010 wur­de die gro­ße Fabrik 4 in Silu­te ein­ge­weiht. Um die Ver­sor­gung mit Weiß­torf lang­fris­tig zu sichern, erwarb Klasmann-Deilmann im Jahr 2011 umfang­rei­che Res­sour­cen in Lett­land und grün­de­te Klasmann-Deilmann Lat­via. Im sel­ben Jahr gin­gen Klasmann-Deilmann Aus­tria und Klasmann-Deilmann Ame­ri­cas als Ver­triebs­ge­sell­schaf­ten an den Start, seit 2012 gehört Klasmann-Deilmann Pol­s­ka zu 100 % zu Klasmann-Deilmann. 2013 folg­te Klasmann-Deilmann Chi­na, 2015 Klasmann-Deilmann Euro­pe. Par­al­lel dazu wur­den in vie­len Län­dern Ver­trä­ge mit eigen­stän­di­gen Ver­triebs­part­nern geschlos­sen, die den Absatz von Kul­tur­sub­stra­ten exklu­siv in ein­zel­nen Märk­ten über­nah­men. Im Lau­fe der Jah­re ent­stand so ein Netz­werk, das heu­te die gan­ze Welt umspannt.

Auch die sei­tens Poli­tik und Umwelt­schutz­ver­bän­den erho­be­ne For­de­rung, zur Sub­stra­ther­stel­lung neben Torf auch Alter­na­ti­ven zu nut­zen, setz­te Klasmann-Deilmann früh­zei­tig um. 1991 nah­men die ers­ten Kom­pos­tie­rungs­an­la­gen den Betrieb auf. Seit 2010 pro­du­ziert Klasmann-Deilmann eige­ne Holz­fa­sern, inzwi­schen betreibt das Unter­neh­men fünf Holz­fa­ser­an­la­gen. In die­sem Zusam­men­hang gelang früh­zei­tig der Ein­stieg in das Seg­ment der Bio-Sub­stra­te, in dem Klasmann-Deilmann füh­rend ist.

Glo­bal den­ken und len­ken, das liegt dir im Blut“, fass­te Bern­hard Alte­vers zusam­men. „Auf die­se Wei­se hast du Klasmann-Deilmann ein­mal rund um den Glo­bus geführt und an vie­len Orten ver­an­kert. Das unter­neh­me­ri­sche Wachs­tum war bei dir in guten Hän­den. Glo­bal len­ken und lokal han­deln, das liegt dir eben­so im Blut. Du warst nie der­je­ni­ge, der vom grü­nen Tisch aus die unter­neh­me­ri­schen Geschi­cke in der gan­zen Welt lenk­te. Du warst unter­wegs, warst zu Besuch bei Toch­ter­ge­sell­schaf­ten und Ver­triebs­part­nern, warst vor Ort, warst mit­ten­drin. Du warst nicht nur Glo­bal Play­er, son­dern immer auch Local Play­er. Du wuss­test, der Erfolg von Klasmann-Deilmann ist eng ver­knüpft mit dem Erfolg sei­ner Geschäfts- und Ver­triebs­part­ner. Du wuss­test, Erfolg braucht Prä­senz, Erfolg braucht Dia­log.“

Die­ses Stich­wort griff Kazi­mie­ras Kamins­kas als Mana­ging Direc­tor der litaui­schen Pro­duk­ti­ons­ge­sell­schaft Klasmann-Deilmann Silu­te und Mit­glied des Exe­cu­ti­ve Com­mit­tee der Unter­neh­mens­grup­pe auf: „Sie waren von Anfang an bei der Ent­wick­lung unse­rer Orga­ni­sa­tio­nen in Litau­en und Lett­land dabei, waren in den Auf­bau der Pro­duk­ti­ons­stand­or­te invol­viert. Sie haben im Jahr 1991 mit Klasmann-Deilmann die ers­ten Schrit­te ins Bal­ti­kum gemacht, waren am Erwerb der litaui­schen Gesell­schaf­ten Silu­te, Lau­ke­sa, Gedri­mai und Eze­r­e­lis maß­geb­lich betei­ligt. Die umfang­rei­chen Invest­ments z. B. für den Bau neu­er Fabri­ken wur­den eben­falls unter Ihrer Ver­ant­wor­tung durch­ge­führt. Sie haben uns mit vol­ler Inten­si­tät unter­stützt, uns immer den rich­ti­gen Rat gege­ben, die Orga­ni­sa­ti­on zur Wei­ter­ent­wick­lung vor­an­ge­trie­ben.“

Mar­tin Schlich­ter, Prä­si­dent der Indus­trie- und Han­dels­kam­mer Osnabrück/Emsland/Grafschaft Bent­heim wies auf das lang­jäh­ri­ge, hohe Enga­ge­ment von Nor­bert Siebels hin, dar­un­ter mehr als fünf­zehn Jah­re als Mit­glied des IHK-Prä­si­di­ums: „In die­ser Rol­le hast du die Arbeit unse­rer IHK aktiv mit­ge­stal­tet – statt sie bloß pas­siv zu beglei­ten. Das galt in ers­ter Linie für das wich­ti­ge The­ma der wirt­schafts­po­li­ti­schen Rah­men­be­din­gun­gen, aber auch für The­men wie Ener­gie, Umwelt und Nach­hal­tig­keit. Beson­ders enga­giert hast du dich im Finanz­aus­schuss des Prä­si­di­ums. Hier hast du mit dei­nem gro­ßen Wis­sen und dei­nem schar­fen ana­ly­ti­schen Ver­stand wich­ti­ge Bei­trä­ge geleis­tet. Auf dem Feld der Nach­hal­tig­keit durf­ten wir im Übri­gen am inten­sivs­ten von dei­nem Wis­sens­vor­sprung pro­fi­tie­ren. Jeder hier weiß, wie sehr dir das The­ma per­sön­lich am Her­zen liegt und wie fort­ge­schrit­ten die Nach­hal­tig­keits­stra­te­gie von Klasmann-Deilmann ist. Ich dan­ke dir im Namen unse­rer IHK sehr herz­lich für dei­nen Ein­satz.“

Schließ­lich ergriff Nor­bert Siebels das Wort und zeich­ne­te anhand alter Fotos sei­ne Geschich­te mit den Klasmann Wer­ken seit den 1950er Jah­ren und mit der Klasmann-Deilmann GmbH ab 1990 nach. „Als ers­tes Stich­wort zu mei­nem Abschied ist mir ‚Dank­bar­keit‘ ein­ge­fal­len. Ich bin sehr, sehr dank­bar für 28 wun­der­ba­re Jah­re bei Klasmann-Deilmann. Ich nut­ze die tol­le Gele­gen­heit, all jenen zu dan­ken, die mit mir für den Erfolg unse­res Unter­neh­mens gear­bei­tet haben. Wir haben vie­le Stun­den mit­ein­an­der ver­bracht, haben gemein­sam sehr viel bewegt, wir haben Klasmann-Deilmann zum Welt­markt­füh­rer gemacht und die­se Posi­ti­on Jahr für Jahr ver­tei­digt. Von allem war etwas dabei: Span­nung und Aben­teu­er, Action und Dra­ma, ziem­lich viel Come­dy und sogar etwas Fan­ta­sy und Sci­ence-Fic­tion. Ich wer­de das alles sehr ver­mis­sen. Klasmann-Deilmann war für mich immer mehr als nur ein Arbeits­platz. Klasmann-Deilmann war ein wich­ti­ger Teil mei­nes Lebens.“ In sehr per­sön­li­chen Wor­ten dank­te er sei­nen Weg­be­glei­tern und wünsch­te der neu­en Geschäfts­füh­rung aus Moritz Böcking und Bernd Weh­ming „all­zeit viel Erfolg und viel Glück.“

Ange­reist waren Gäs­te aus mehr als zwan­zig Natio­nen auf der gan­zen Welt. Im Anschluss an die offi­zi­el­le Fei­er bot das neue Inno­va­ti­on Cen­ter der Klasmann-Deilmann GmbH ein fest­li­ches Ambi­en­te, das vie­le nutz­ten, um sich per­sön­lich von Nor­bert Siebels zu ver­ab­schie­den.